Picture
Professional networks can help you promote yourself and stay connected with other professionals in your related field. This can be done in a number of ways and there are a number of strategies that can help you do this.

One strategy I think is necessary when professional networking would be to set a goal. This goal needs to be attainable and specific for you. An example of a goal I would set using professional networking would be to become more aware of professional development related to physical education. This gives you a starting point to know who you will be connecting with.

The next strategy I believe is necessary is building your network. This can be achieved in a number of ways. I believe you need to do some research and find what network best fits you. One network I recently join was LinkedIn. I am relativity new to this site but from what I can see it is very professional and makes it very easy to connect with others. After deciding which network to use it’s time to start building up your connections. I would first connect with familiar people then branch out to other professionals in related as well as non related fields.

The last strategy I would suggest in professional networking is be professional. Is might seem like a given but at all time you need to be professional. When you are posting or writing to others make sure you grammar is always correct, this is your professional network not a text message. Also, if there are any issues where you disagree with handle it in a professional manner. Once a post goes on the internet there I no taking back what you said so always be professional.

Professional networks are a great way for you to promote yourself and connect with others. As you noticed technology is everywhere. I believe technology enhances professional networks and it’s a vital component of it. Technology allows you to connect with others with the speed and convenience of anywhere in the world. I believe you could still have professional networks without technology but they would be less effective. These are just a few basic strategies I think are necessary for professional networking but if taken into consideration they can benefit you greatly. 


Shannon Taylor
5/31/2013 08:24:04 am

Caleb,
I like how you mentioned to set a goal when choosing a professional network strategy. Since being in this course, we have been asked to create a LinkedIn account. I can see the benefits that it can provide in regards to networking. I also like how you mentioned to connect with people that you know first and then branch out to other people/networks. In todays professional environment it is all about who you know and by having several connections on networking sites can have major benefits.
I feel like you made valid points but I have to disagree on networking without technology is less effective. Networking without technology means that someone needs to be comfortable with interacting with other people and use their "people skills." Sometime word of mouth is a great way to network as well. Just think 10 years ago, people did not have these opportunities like we do today with technology and they were able to find decent jobs so I do not think we should discredit the "old fashion" way of interacting. However, I do like the new technology that allows for us to connect with more people than ever.
I did enjoy reading your response and look forward to your future post as well.

Thanks,
Shannon Taylor

Reply
Arthur Berlanga
6/1/2013 05:11:04 am

To begin, I love when you wrote, "The last strategy I would suggest in professional networking is be professional. Is might seem like a given but at all time you need to be professional. When you are posting or writing to others make sure you grammar is always correct, this is your professional network not a text message." This holds great significance. I think many people make the mistake of not being professional for professional advancement or seeking opportunities. Furthermore, grammar and the context of speech is very important as well. You have addressed some great professional networking strategies, especially how to approach to such.

Reply
Jordan Glessner
6/2/2013 12:20:15 am

I also found it important to use professional networking to enhance opportunities for professional development. LinkedIn and Twitter have been two resources I use to stay connected with my college professors as well as national conventions who hold professional development opportunities. This is an easy access point to updated and recent changes in the PE world.

Reply
Matt Souza
6/14/2013 12:27:27 am

I agree with Jordan's theory. Networking with past professors is very useful and easy over the internet with applications like twitter and LinkedIn. Not only is it very easy to update changes but it is also beneficial for possible recommendations later in life for your peers to see how your life and resume has unfolded. For myself, publicizing our baseball program on our facebook fan page is going to be very beneficial as we will be able to branch our network out to make connections and inform people of our upcoming events, such as fundraising activities :)

Reply



Leave a Reply.